A Tribute to My Runner <3

Standard

Today my husband ran in a 10-mile race.  Last year this time he was barely running 3 miles, if that.  I’m so proud of his hard work and diligence, so today’s post is dedicated to him.  Way to go, honey!

It all started with a little app for his iPod touch called “Couch to 5K,” which (you guessed it) took him from sitting on the couch to being able to run a 5K.  Nine weeks of 5K-training wasn’t enough, however, so he continued with the “Bridge to 10K.”  This 6-week program increased his distanced to a 10K.  But that wasn’t enough, either.  He decided to go for a 10-mile race (today’s), which pushed him through a training regimen requiring weekly runs of up to 8 or 9 miles.  Now we have a half-marathon coming up in October.  It’s just never enough…

🙂

I figure at this rate, he should be able to able to run his marathon early in the spring, then push for a 50-miler midsummer, and finish up with a 100-mile race (the Leadville, perhaps?) by late fall.  Maybe the year following a quick run across the country?  The world?  The UNIVERSE?

I ran today…to the store, that is.

Actually, I do hope to join my husband in his crazy running shenanigans, so I’ve started the Couch to 5K plan.  I’ll be creating a page soon to track my progress and give me some form of accountability.  So far I’ve completed ONE day.  Whoo-hoo!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

