The Race is On!

Standard

Apparently my daughters and I are in a contest: they’ve determined to make things as messy as possible, while I desperately try to keep things as clean as possible.

Each day they race through the house like a swirling tornado, one on foot and the other on hands-and-knees.  No nook or cranny can escape their messifying, stickifying, crumbefying presence.  Meanwhile, I trail behind their wake pushing a vacuum with one hand and juggling cleaning supplies in the other.

Today I was falling behind in points significantly, but managed to pull ahead during naptime.  Resisting the urge to sit down and rest, I busied myself instead scrubbing, washing, vacuuming, spraying, wiping, organizing, folding, and generally gloating in my triumph.

But before I had a chance to finish and revel in my spick-and-span glory, I heard it — the cry.  True, I was ahead for a while, but in the end they had me beat.  They always did, I suppose.  Ah well, it’s all par for the course, right?  🙂

One response »

  1. The Playpen: kinda mean, kinda helpful. You liked it fine, and big brother couldn’t take your toys from you. Maybe a future baby will see the inside of a playpen. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

