The Ambler Daily Rambler

Standard

Today was exhausting yet exhilarating (how’s that for alliteration? :)).

After much coaxing from my all-too-supportive-of-my-goals husband, I grudgingly rolled out of my soft, cozy, wonderful bed and stumbled upstairs to start on my new goal of “maximizing my mornings.”  Having that sweet time of Bible reading and worship made it WELL worth the effort!

Then I traveled approximately 1.83 miles on Day 2 of my Couch to 5K plan.  I say “traveled” because the plan alternates 60 seconds of running with 90 seconds of walking.  Aka wussy running, or…traveling.

I came home to fresh homemade waffles, because my husband is amazing like that.

Then I spent a really fun morning with my daughters.  I totally felt like a good mom, and that’s a really good feeling after being in such a selfish rut lately.
Sidenote:  I’m fairly convinced that it’s impossible to have a perfectly clean house and a perfectly fun day simultaneously; I could totally do with some little kitchen elves tonight…

We trekked down to a yard sale at the end of the street.  SCORE!  (A few days ago at a thrift store I found Book 13 of “A Series of Unfortunate Events” in pristine condition for a buck and decided then and there to start collecting the entire series.)  I rummaged through a box at the yard sale to find not one, not two, not three, but FOUR more of the books, also in perfect condition, and a quarter each (five for a dollar, so I threw in “A Wrinkle in Time” as well.).
This collection was obviously meant to happen.

We continued on our walk to deliver the rent check to our outstanding landlord, and finished the journey home, covering roughly the same amount of ground that I had in my morning “run.”

That means I traveled about 3.5 miles today.

By the way, did you know Borders is going out of business?
While my husband attended a deacons’ meeting at church tonight, us girls hit up the closeout sale and, after scouring the store shelves for a full two hours (can we add another mile?), I got a melodious deal on The Sound of Music — 70% off!

I’m tired.
My feet hurt.
But it was a great day.

2 responses »

  1. Oh, a blog! YAY! 🙂 I have most of the Series of Unfortunate Events books…wait a minute, I think I have them all…I just haven’t FINISHED reading them! 🙂 They’re great fun to read! As well as “A Wrinkle in Time.” LOVE. I’ve heard of the Couch to 5k thing…interesting! I should check it out! Glad to read your “ramblings!” 😉

    • Great to hear from you, Sarah! I liked your blog.
      It’s been years since I read “A Wrinkle in Time,” I’m looking forward to it! As well as ASOUE.

Leave a Reply

