A Little Folding of the Hands to Rest…

Standard

This morning while the baby napped, I read stories to my preschooler till I was falling asleep myself.  I managed to convince her that it was a really great idea for us to go lie down for a bit — an idea that she soon came to disagree with, as she hopped down off the bed and scampered off to play.

I, on the other hand, stubbornly snuggled deeper into the covers.  The baby was safely in her crib…how much trouble could they really get into, anyways?

Somewhere amidst my drowsy wonderland, I heard the cry of a baby awakening.  But the sound was muffled by sleepiness as I slipped back into unconsciousness.  Later I woke up, more clearly this time, to my daughter yelling at the top of her lungs in a sing-song voice,

“Mommy!  Where are you?”

This was directly followed by baby laughter and giggling.

Pause.

“Mo-ommmmy!! Where ARE you??”

More squeals and laughter from her delighted audience.

This went on a little while longer before I finally dragged myself out of bed to see why my presence was so eagerly desired.

Cheerily perched atop the changing table was my two-year-old (remember the stool?), who brightened even more when I walked in.

Her outfit was a curious one; the top was as I remembered before falling asleep, but below that she wore what looked like a pair of tight, knee-length shorts of a completely different color and pattern.  I sleepily cocked my head…Where have I seen those before?  Then I remembered: those pants had been on the baby just an hour or so earlier.
I looked over to confirm the situation.  There stood my 9-month-old, sporting the matching onesie, but nothing more.  In fact, everything but the baby and said onesie had been cast from the crib.

I rubbed my eyes to take a closer look at the baby’s wet hair, only to realize that her head had been smothered in lotion.

 I applied my heart to what I observed
and learned a lesson from what I saw:
A little sleep, a little slumber,
a little folding of the hands to rest—
and poverty will come on you like a thief
and scarcity like an armed man.”
(Proverbs 24:32-34)

…or in my case, messy rooms, greasy babies, and misclothed children.

One response »

Leave a Reply

