Friday Photo: My Little Culinary Artist

Standard

My two-year-old made a cake all by herself!  I know, I know, you’re thinking, “How can such a young child measure, mix, and bake a cake?”  Well, it’s simple when you have an empty, lidless barrel and a big, green ball.

Upon hearing her excited announcement that she’d made a birthday cake, I broke out into song:  “Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday dear…” Here I paused, not sure who to address.  She readily inserted her own name with a huge smile and a look that seemed to say, “Of course, Mom, who else?

She carefully cut into the cake and divvied it up; then, using a pincer grasp to pick up an apparently microscopic piece, she proudly set it on the table before me.  I devoured it enthusiastically, of course.  It’s not every day you get to enjoy Barrel-Ball Birthday Cake!

Leave a Reply

