“Mommy, you don’t have to be grumpy…”

Standard

One of my biggest responsibilities as a mother is communicating the Gospel to my daughters, both verbally and nonverbally.

Unfortunately, I often fall short, the flesh rises up, and I find myself apologizing for something or other.  Recently, whenever this happens, I’ve been trying to explain to my daughter that I am a sinner, but God has forgiven me because Jesus paid for my sins on the cross.  One of the last things I want is for her to think her mommy is perfect.  And one of the first things I want her to understand is that God freely offers grace through faith in Jesus Christ.

The other day, I was having a lousy morning, and my attitude was just awful.  My sweet little two-year-old looked up at me and said very matter-of-fact, “Mommy, you don’t have to be grumpy, because Jesus took away your sins.”

How right she was.  i hope and pray for the day when she fully grasps all that that little statement means.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: What’s your kid like? « Ambling through Motherhood

  2. I am also thankful for my little one’s rebukes. “Are you happy, Mommy?” she will ask. Or, if we get upset about losing something, she will say, “It’s ok! I will help you!” What sweet little examples.

Leave a Reply

