Happy New Year!

Standard

And…we’re back!  After an unintended break from the blogging world, I’m back and rarin’ to go.

I find that the turn of a year is a particularly good time for introspection and self-evaluation, inevitably leading to new resolves to do better.  I tend to get carried away with New Year resolutions.  If I didn’t temper it, my list would include (but by no means be limited to) the following

  • Be more disciplined
  • Get up earlier
  • Read my Bible more
  • Pray more
  • Practice the piano more
  • Exercise more
  • Read more
  • Write on my blog more
  • Don’t be late to things
  • Stop procrastinating
  • Keep up with housework
  • Stick to a schedule
  • Walk the dog more
  • Be more prepared for mealtimes
  • Be more prepared for teaching Sunday School
  • Be a better mommy
  • Be a better wife
  • Be a better Christian

But…that’s an overwhelming list and, let’s face it, not things that just magically change because I flipped a page on the calendar.

So instead, I’m simplifying.  I found some fantastic advice on this blog, which I am adopting for myself.

Imagine who you want your kids to become.

Be that.

That, and my husband and I both want to use our mornings better, so we’re tackling the other end:  bedtime.  We’ve planned to start going to bed earlier so we can actually function in the morning (a novel idea, I know…).
That being said, goodnight all!

Leave a Reply

